Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Davide Carpi  
#1 Posted : 14 March 2014 02:40:44(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
Password: test

As for now, do not use this plugin for productivity Beta

- Allowed inputs: mouse click, mouse wheel, + and - keys;
- Settings: double-click over the region.
- Input: any vector/matrix/system with two or more rows.
- Output: place a variable in the region placeholder.
- Size driven by the values (manual resize not allowed).
- Adds the same control in SMath Viewer (using the same layout).

Look in the attachment for more details and features.


SMath Studio 0.96.5146 or later required

PLEASE REPORT HERE ANY ISSUE

Edited by user 25 May 2014 16:29:51(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
features & examples.sm (19kb) downloaded 86 time(s).
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2014-03-14 00_43_35-SMath Studio Desktop - [examples.sm_].png
2014-03-14 00_43_08-SMath Studio Desktop - [examples.sm_].png
2014-03-14 00_45_54-lol - SMath Viewer.png
Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 5 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 14/03/2014(UTC),  on 14/03/2014(UTC),  on 14/03/2014(UTC),  on 14/03/2014(UTC),  on 14/03/2014(UTC)
Offline PompelmoTell  
#2 Posted : 14 March 2014 12:14:26(UTC)
PompelmoTell


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 86
Location: italy

Was thanked: 31 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Thanks Davide for the great job

I don't mind using the two-column matrix; In some situations is a nice shortcut for define the variable in output.
Perhaps it would be useful to differentiate the instrument through an option.

sergio
Offline zorrykid  
#3 Posted : 14 March 2014 15:00:18(UTC)
zorrykid


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/02/2014(UTC)
Posts: 18
Italy
Location: Rome

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Thanks a lot and best regards

Franco
Offline Davide Carpi  
#4 Posted : 14 March 2014 15:29:48(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks Davide for this exquisite gift,Clapping

It really fills a missing tool place ! Yes

You're welcome Biggrin

Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
I noticed that when a matrix is taken as input source, the output is no more the selected line number,
but it corresponds to the value for the selected line in the second column of this matrix. Unsure
From my viewpoint, it would be preferable to have as output always the selected line number, in order to be able to recover the whole line of the matrix, especially when the matrix has more then 2 columns (!?).

Ok, I can easily suppress this feature, I've just reproduced the combobox behavior Good


No feedbacks about the new symbolic features shown in the first attachment?


Best regards,

Davide
Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 14/03/2014(UTC)
Offline PompelmoTell  
#5 Posted : 14 March 2014 18:41:44(UTC)
PompelmoTell


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 86
Location: italy

Was thanked: 31 time(s) in 25 post(s)
In the previous post I had not yet used the example.
now, more than before, I can confirm that two-column matrix is fantastic for me Clap

sergio
Offline mkraska  
#6 Posted : 14 March 2014 20:53:00(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,173
Germany

Was thanked: 590 time(s) in 397 post(s)
Originally Posted by: w3b5urf3r_reloaded Go to Quoted Post
No feedbacks about the new symbolic features shown in the first attachment?

Great to see that you have access to the math region formatting capabilities within custom regions.

Given the depth of your insight into the machinery, I see potential for great things to become true:
- plot regions with placeholders for axis limits and arbitrary expressions for annotation
- Text region with math insets and rtf formatting capabilities
- seamlessly integrated matrix editor
- Tabular input feature (like in Mathcad)
- Tabular display using math-region-consistent formatting
- advanced result formatting (numbers of significant digits, polar form of complex numbers)
- special markup for nonscalar variables (boldface)
- Fulltext search (in the open sheet and in directory trees)
But don't be too fast, even now it is hard to keep up documenting... ;-)






Martin Kraska

Portable SMath with plugins and interactive handbook: http://smath.info/wiki/SMath%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 14/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#7 Posted : 14 March 2014 23:02:24(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
I've updated the plugin, now the output is always the item number; thinking a little while about it, my opinion is that the default output should be this... I'll think if and how to introduce a choice to the output (the ordinal number rather than the whole row or an element in a column...)


best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 14 March 2014 23:05:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 14/03/2014(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#8 Posted : 15 March 2014 00:04:25(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,173
Germany

Was thanked: 590 time(s) in 397 post(s)
I do not really understand the problem with the return values taken from the second column of a matrix. If the line number is the desired output, just fill the second column with appropriate numbers or access the complete line via findrows().
mkraska attached the following image(s):
rblr.PNG
Martin Kraska

Portable SMath with plugins and interactive handbook: http://smath.info/wiki/SMath%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 15/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#9 Posted : 15 March 2014 03:15:17(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
Thank you Martin, this is true Good

From my point of view there are enough tools to make any solution usable, but there are "better" and "less better" ways.

Talking about general cases, with the first approach (emulation of combobox behavior) if you want the index from a matrix for post-processing purposes (get the whole row, get the n-th element of that row, or get something else not directly related), you need a pre-processing by assigning the first column to a new variable or some post-processing operation (like that made by you with findrows; here you assume that the second column contains only different values, but you may encounter some problems when the second column contains several equal values).

In the other hand making the option index as output always available there's no needs to make pre-processing operations and any post-processing operation could start from an unique identifier without issues; moreover, as I've written in my previous post, I think that it's possible to move the most common desired outputs directly inside the region dialog (if my explaination was not too much confused, it should emerge that these options are for a very specific context, namely that in which the region drives only the parameters of the input matrix; if the region drives also other things, like corresponding parameters in other matrices/tables, the index is again the most important thing). As "secondary" matter, this is a more linear approach: any allowed input returns as default output the row index of the selected item).

However the plugin is a beta and I'm opened to any suggestion Laugh wild


Best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 15 March 2014 03:30:39(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 2 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 15/03/2014(UTC),  on 15/03/2014(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#10 Posted : 15 March 2014 09:53:50(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,173
Germany

Was thanked: 590 time(s) in 397 post(s)
Yes, perhaps it is a good idea to have a choice in the settings (radio button?) of what the output should be (row index, column number, where to get the value, complete row...).

Now something different. The discussion on parametrization of smath sheets "from below" caused me to have a closer look on what Andrey calles "absolute definitions", see http://en.smath.info/for...bsolute-definitions.aspx

If an absolute variable is used as output, then the radio button region fails to trigger re-calculation, even if it looses mouse focus. In contrast to that, normal variables react imediately to button actions.

In order to get the sheet consistent, manual recalculation is required.
File Attachment(s):
Parametrierung.sm (5kb) downloaded 26 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
parameter.PNG
Martin Kraska

Portable SMath with plugins and interactive handbook: http://smath.info/wiki/SMath%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 2 users thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 15/03/2014(UTC),  on 16/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#11 Posted : 15 March 2014 18:44:07(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Now something different. The discussion on parametrization of smath sheets "from below" caused me to have a closer look on what Andrey calles "absolute definitions", see http://en.smath.info/for...bsolute-definitions.aspx

If an absolute variable is used as output, then the radio button region fails to trigger re-calculation, even if it looses mouse focus. In contrast to that, normal variables react imediately to button actions.

In order to get the sheet consistent, manual recalculation is required.

I think that absolute definitions could be useful also in the modeller region Good
Seems a SMath bug or "unimplemented feature"... if you use a classic variable as output (a) and then you define the absolute variable using the output (∼a:a), the result is the same...

Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
I change, by the program, the Input Data source for the Button List and, for every input change, the setting "split every" is reset to the default "all the list"(!?).

The layout and the number of consecutive elements are unset when you change the input size (number of rows)
As for the layout, there are no problems... The "split every" value is a little bit more complicated to drive...

Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
Do you imagine a font control for the list. As it is, it seems using an embedded unique font, without any possibility of changing ?

Actually there are some small issues in Math regions when you change the fonts (you can see something exporting the example worksheet in SMath Viewer), but is it in my plans...


best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 16 March 2014 02:00:10(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2014-03-15 16_40_47-lol - SMath Viewer.png
2014-03-15 16_43_01-SMath Studio Desktop - [features & examples.sm_].png
Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 15/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#12 Posted : 18 March 2014 00:36:24(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,113
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1039 time(s) in 388 post(s)
I think plug-in should be recompiled. Sorry for this, but I have to do some critical changes in Custom Regions mechanizm in order to provide new features in future.
thanks 2 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 18/03/2014(UTC),  on 18/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#13 Posted : 18 March 2014 02:24:02(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
UPDATED

(SMath Studio 0.97.5189)

- code updated to fit the new APIs features;

Originally Posted by: smath Go to Quoted Post
I think plug-in should be recompiled. Sorry for this, but I have to do some critical changes in Custom Regions mechanizm in order to provide new features in future.

Don't worry Andrey, any improvement is highly welcome! (and the plugin version in the EM is very useful to avoid confusion) Good


Best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 18 March 2014 14:11:55(UTC)  | Reason: new update

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
Offline Davide Carpi  
#14 Posted : 18 March 2014 14:13:52(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
UPDATED

(SMath Studio 0.97.5189)

- Layout & split settings propagated when data size changes;
- fixed clicks on "white cells";
- fixed clicks on empty regions.

Edited by user 18 March 2014 14:22:51(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 2 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 18/03/2014(UTC),  on 18/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#15 Posted : 22 March 2014 20:33:50(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
UPDATED

(SMath Studio 0.97.5189)

- SMath Viewer: uses the region description (if exist and is shown).
Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 22/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#16 Posted : 15 April 2014 14:41:15(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
UPDATED
(SMath Studio 0.97.5189)

  • BTS SS-103 features (extended)
    - select input column
    - select output type (index, element from a column, whole row)
    - select text Font
    - select text Color (from SMath toolbar)
  • RBs now uses MathRegions for any element shown (except strings at the first nesting level)
  • Added number's formatting (at the first nesting level)



NOTE: The plugin should be back-compatible with the previous version; this compatibility will be extended as long as possible but I suggest to update any document containing this plugin to avoid problems in the future.

Edited by user 15 April 2014 14:42:53(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2014-04-15 13_45_45-Greenshot capture form.png
Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
Offline Davide Carpi  
#17 Posted : 15 April 2014 18:40:35(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
Grazzie mille !Smile

de rien! Biggrin


BTW this version of the plugin should be the backbone of the ComboBoxList plugin (SS-102) so any feedback about bugs or lacks is important.


Best regards,

Davide
Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 16/04/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#18 Posted : 18 April 2014 20:26:24(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
UPDATED
(SMath Studio 0.97.5189)

- fixed number's settings when dialog exit condition is not "OK";
- minor changes;
Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
Offline Davide Carpi  
#19 Posted : 19 April 2014 10:40:31(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
Hi Ioan, happy Easter to you Good

With my files I can't reproduce this issue, can you attach here or send me a file with this issue?


Best regards,

Davide

---

edit: this is a back-compatibility issue. Anyone that experiment this problem can replace with a text editor the XML code:

Code:
      <ul>
        <li>a string</li>
        <li>a string</li>
        <li>a string</li>
        <li>a string</li>
      </ul>


with:

Code:
      <ul>
        <li>#</li>
      </ul>


then the file can be opened and saved again, without losses.

Edited by user 19 April 2014 16:05:31(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 19/04/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#20 Posted : 08 April 2015 10:53:26(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,678
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 862 time(s) in 574 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED

- Plugin updated to respect changes in SS Core;
- Evaluation on end of multiple MouseWheel calls or +/- keys pressed restored;
- +/- fixed to work with any localization;

Edited by user 08 April 2015 11:23:16(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 09/04/2015(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.