Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline cartographer  
#1 Posted : 21 July 2014 15:46:50(UTC)
cartographer

Groups: Registered
United Kingdom

Hi ! I am in need of some help please from an Smath Studio expert.

I am fairly new to Smath and I am trying to port some maths (in fact two closely related programs that are largely spherical trig) to see if they will work in Smath. I have previously coded the software in Liberty Basic Pro, Python 3.4.1 and Mathcad (15 and Prime 3) and all give consistent, correct, results.

The code requires use of "while" loops within which to converge iterative elements of the math in each case. The problem is that it is necessary to get at the final values of several parameters that are used within the loops (6 in one case and 10 in the other) once convergence is complete. These values are then used for further, post convergence, calculations.

This is no problem in Liberty Basic and Python. However, it does not seem very easy (to me at least !)to produce "report quality" output via these options. Mathcad provides quality output, but the solution I found does not seem to work with Smath.

I have been exploring Smath for about a year and it now seems to have reached the stage (currently I am using RC 0.97.5301) where it can give good results. However, I cannot find any way of getting it to do what I need in respect of the recovery of multiple values from the while loops. I have been playing around with the use of column vectors to act as "containers" for returning the requisite values, but without success as yet. Am I on the right track ?

Can anybody help me please ?

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 21 July 2014 16:47:04(UTC)
Davide Carpi

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Man
Italy