Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

3 Pages<123
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#41 Posted : 17 November 2017 02:11:27(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,267
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1372 time(s) in 470 post(s)
Originally Posted by: gabben Go to Quoted Post
I'm having some problems with the for(3) dots being out of place, using the latest build and default formatting.

It is an error of range(3) function. It works ok when it is alone, but not ok in all other cases. Will fix it soon.

Thank you!
Offline Mido0  
#42 Posted : 17 November 2017 03:27:42(UTC)
Mido0


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/01/2017(UTC)
Posts: 16
Man
Canada
Location: Alberta

Hi,
I am having problem that I cannot access the tools menu, I get this Unhanded exception error:



See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at ...ctor(SessionProfile )
at ..(Object , EventArgs )
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8762 (QFE.050727-8700)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll

SMathStudio_Desktop
Assembly Version: 0.98.6528.22824
Win32 Version: 1.1.28.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/SMathStudio_Desktop.exe

SMath.Manager
Assembly Version: 0.98.6528.22823
Win32 Version: 0.98.6528.22823
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/SMath.Manager.DLL

System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5491 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll

System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8770 (QFE.050727-8700)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll

System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5495 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll

System.Xml
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5494 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll

SpecialFunctions
Assembly Version: 1.11.6528.22825
Win32 Version: 1.11.6528.22825
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/SpecialFunctions.dll

SMath.Controls
Assembly Version: 0.98.6528.22824
Win32 Version: 0.98.6528.22824
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/SMath.Controls.DLL

MathcadFileAccess
Assembly Version: 1.0.6520.39061
Win32 Version: 1.0.6520.39061
CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/mgaafar/AppData/Roaming/SMath/extensions/plugins/02a1c2c5-590e-46bb-bcf6-c87856a8b14b/1.0.6520.39061/MathcadFileAccess.dll

SMath.Math.Numeric
Assembly Version: 1.65.6528.22823
Win32 Version: 1.65.6528.22823
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/SMath.Math.Numeric.DLL

SMath.Math.Symbolic
Assembly Version: 1.32.6528.22823
Win32 Version: 1.32.6528.22823
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/SMath.Math.Symbolic.DLL

HTMLFileType
Assembly Version: 1.13.6528.22825
Win32 Version: 1.13.6528.22825
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/HTMLFileType.dll

ImageFileType
Assembly Version: 1.9.6528.22825
Win32 Version: 1.9.6528.22825
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/ImageFileType.dll

PictureRegion
Assembly Version: 1.10.6528.22825
Win32 Version: 1.10.6528.22825
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/PictureRegion.dll

PlotRegion
Assembly Version: 1.9.6528.22825
Win32 Version: 1.9.6528.22825
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/PlotRegion.dll

SMathFileType
Assembly Version: 1.9.6528.22825
Win32 Version: 1.9.6528.22825
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/SMathFileType.dll

StandardToolboxButtons
Assembly Version: 1.0.6528.22826
Win32 Version: 1.0.6528.22826
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/StandardToolboxButtons.dll

SMath.UI
Assembly Version: 0.98.6528.22824
Win32 Version: 0.98.6528.22824
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/SMath.UI.DLL

ViewerFileType
Assembly Version: 1.1.6528.22826
Win32 Version: 1.1.6528.22826
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/ViewerFileType.dll

XMCDFileType
Assembly Version: 1.12.6528.22825
Win32 Version: 1.12.6528.22825
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SMath%20Studio/plugins/XMCDFileType.dll

System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5483 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll

9fnsijld
Assembly Version: 0.98.6528.22824
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8770 (QFE.050727-8700)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll


************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
Offline mkraska  
#43 Posted : 18 November 2017 01:13:52(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,429
Germany

Was thanked: 745 time(s) in 480 post(s)
1. I confirm the problem of accessing Tools> Options.

It can be avoided by setting the option "representation" to "Default" instead of "Initial" manually by editing the settings file. Then you can switch as usual between the formatting options.



2. Following the logic of "Default" formatting, all pre-defined stuff is non-italic and all user defined functions and variables are italic, user defined units still are upright.

Therefore, it would be sufficient to display the pre-defined values π and e in normal upright. Yet they show up in bold.
On the other hand, the imaginary unit is not bold and is not displayed italic if re-defined by the user.

Proposals:
- Just let π and e be upright to show that they are pre-defined.
- Make i italic as soon as it is overwritten.
- Make user-defined units italic.

2017-11-17 23_12_48-SMath Studio 0.98.6528 - [Abschatzung Knickstutzen 2.sm].png


Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#44 Posted : 22 November 2017 11:07:57(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,988
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1010 time(s) in 666 post(s)
another issue in nested for()

2017-11-22 09_05_11-SMath Studio - [Example%202(1).sm_].png

and in math text (text cursor is displayed in the wrong position)
2017-11-22 10_18_00-SMath Studio - [Page1_].png

Edited by user 22 November 2017 12:18:51(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
Offline mkraska  
#45 Posted : 29 November 2017 01:52:04(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,429
Germany

Was thanked: 745 time(s) in 480 post(s)
Yet another issue: The formatting for un-evaluated math regions doesn't obey the representation settings. This leads to different format of single variable names as used for image annotation (non-italic) and the same names in evaluated math regions (italic).

2017-11-28 23_35_41-SMath Studio 0.98.6528 - [H3_Balken_mit_Knick.sm_].png
H3_Balken_mit_Knick.sm (125kb) downloaded 28 time(s).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline mkraska  
#46 Posted : 29 November 2017 11:41:18(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,429
Germany

Was thanked: 745 time(s) in 480 post(s)
Here not only the "in" operator but also the range dots gets lost. The example is taken from https://en.smath.info/view/hatchandfill/summary
cloud:
2017-11-29 09_15_57-2DPlots with hatch and fill - SMath Studio in the Cloud.png

installed app:
2017-11-29 09_31_48-SMath Studio 0.98.6528 - [2DPlots with hatch and fill.sm_].png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline overlord  
#47 Posted : 29 November 2017 13:40:18(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 55
Turkey

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Anyone else reproduce this paranthesis issue, or is specific to my machine?
I uninstalled and deleted every footsteps of Smath before installing the latest release.
As far as my tests, not occured on my home PC which is Windows 10 x64 and 2K resolution. Happens at work computer.

Regards

paranthesis.png

Edited by user 29 November 2017 13:42:33(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline tomtit  
#48 Posted : 22 December 2017 23:05:23(UTC)
tomtit


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/02/2014(UTC)
Posts: 58

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Yes, I do have the same issue on different computers win7-64 and win10-64.
Old Win7 display is not high DPI at all, I just used 125% custom font size.
The right picture is created by old Smath version.
example.pngexample_old.png

Edited by user 24 December 2017 00:26:27(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline mkraska  
#49 Posted : 23 December 2017 21:27:39(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,429
Germany

Was thanked: 745 time(s) in 480 post(s)
A reader of my SMath Handbuch sent me a hint on how to handle high DPI problems under Win10. I can't test this but would be interested in feedback whether this is helpful.

Screenshot 2017-12-13 20.38.43.png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Jean Giraud  
#50 Posted : 24 December 2017 00:29:01(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
As far as my tests, not occured on my home PC which is Windows 10 x64 and 2K resolution. Happens at work computer.


You don't precise if same machines home/work and same versions and both auto-mode update.
Your work sheet [if your snippet is 1/1] is in unreasonable zoom, that may matter wrt Win version.
The small laptop Win 7, once a work sheet has been zoomed up, the reverse zoom down is possible,
but NOT back to original default, i.e: not returned 1/1 original.
This type of zoom is just an upscale, which is not reversible. All that to say that increasing
the font size looks compatible. If you need larger size font in math regions: compose native as
set in "options", then increase from the drop down menu.
Offline overlord  
#51 Posted : 24 December 2017 23:25:22(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 55
Turkey

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 11 post(s)
The picture I shared above is taken at %100 zoom of Smath just by print screen by the way. I have also tried it with %125, %150 and %200 zooming of Smath. This happens whether the page is zoomed or not, zooming the page is not the issue here.
With exactly same settings of Smath on Win10 x64 and Win7 x86 (though they don't have same hardware and resolution), the Smath on Win7 is creating the parenthesis issue. the exact same page doesn't make this when I open it on Win10.
When a text or formula is selected and font sizes are set to 12 on problematic Smath, the phenomenon disappears. It happens when font size is below 12.
My guess is the left and right side of font characters overwrites to parenthesis with lower font size values. But I can't understand why Smath on Win7 is spoiling it and Win10 is not.

Regards
Offline Jean Giraud  
#52 Posted : 25 December 2017 16:27:59(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Strange, I tried to reproduce on my Win 7 laptop ... can't.
Your snippet is 1/1 print screen of the work sheet, so:
the work sheet is "overzoomed". Just work on native WS.
The brackets are glyphes, maybe not scalable.
Is your Win 7 "real" or a "crack" ?
Did the kids played games ? ...
Offline Jean Giraud  
#53 Posted : 26 December 2017 04:57:28(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
The native Smath grid is 19 pixels. Your PrintScreen is 32.
At same zoom [32], I can't reproduce your num/den problem WIN 7.
At various increasing zoom, the glyphes suffer.
Resolution is commonly misinterpreted. Resolution is defined in term of PPI [Pixels Per Inch].
To view what it means from the definition, it defines a band of alternating black/white lines.
PC screen have a universal 96 PPI, except an old IBM [105]. Medical is higher resolution.
The normal human eye has conventional resolution 1200 PPI. That can be appreciated under
sunlight looking at a white flower from fruit three. Just feel like looking at an immense
field of tiny diamonds [spectacular, can be captured in photos].
iPhones have smaller pixels to reach around above 500 PPI.
At your zoom 32, the beautiful Smath graph turns horror.
High price cameras/photos have capture capability several time human eye, thus helping HD TV.
Offline overlord  
#54 Posted : 27 December 2017 09:38:23(UTC)
overlord


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/07/2013(UTC)
Posts: 55
Turkey

Was thanked: 14 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Here is the full screenshot just to make assure you zooming is irrelevant. Notice the zooming is at %100.

screenshot.png
Offline Jean Giraud  
#55 Posted : 27 December 2017 19:19:23(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: overlord Go to Quoted Post
Here is the full screenshot just to make assure you zooming is irrelevant.

0. Tested Win 7 small laptop Smath 6179
1. always crop the capture ... otherwise too big and difficult to reproduce.
2. Try not to use italic
3. @ size 18, Bmin starts touching := but parenthesis are OK
4. If nothing works: re-install your Win 7 from CD
or from the shop that sold you. If your Win 7 is not original, i.e: a crack
or a 2nd hand, maybe can't be doctored.
5. Did you have same problem with previous 6179 ?
If 6179 was OK, try to recover back [Windows facility].
6. If your machine had played illegal games, may be dead/damaged for ever.

Can't help more ... wait for more savant Doctors

Size16.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#56 Posted : 27 December 2017 19:57:11(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: tomtit Go to Quoted Post
The right picture is created by old Smath version.


That closes the discussions ... 6528 is the problem
Offline Davide Carpi  
#57 Posted : 27 December 2017 20:32:33(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,988
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1010 time(s) in 666 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
0. Tested Win 7 small laptop Smath 6179

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
6528 is the problem


Yep, this is the thread of SS 0.98.6528 beta, and his new bugs and features; in recent betas we are testing a new way to render math symbols that previously were drawn internally; this is to be better looking on printing and when using different font sizes. But fonts are an hell to handle precisely in .NET (at least in .NET < 3.5 or anyway outside Direct2D/DirectWrite approaches, that however have other drawbacks such as the compatibility with older OS), more there are other issues related on how some versions of Windows handle fonts Laugh wild

Please be patient Good

Edited by user 27 December 2017 20:49:35(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Best regards,

Davide

---
If you like my plugins please consider making a donation to SMath Studio
Users browsing this topic
3 Pages<123
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.