Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline MBernacca  
#1 Posted : 05 December 2017 20:02:05(UTC)
MBernacca


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10
Italy
Location: Pisa

Just an exercise on Smath to test functionalities and capabilities.
Try the attached file and play with it.

Thanks
Marco
InterX.sm (86kb) downloaded 44 time(s).
Offline Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 06 December 2017 01:15:42(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Thanks Marco, works fine 6179,
Great piece of work !
Offline ndtma  
#3 Posted : 06 December 2017 11:59:02(UTC)
ndtma


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/06/2014(UTC)
Posts: 110
Man
Sri Lanka
Location: Colombo

Was thanked: 50 time(s) in 33 post(s)
Hi,
I get this error in SS 6528 (latest), and runs indefinitely?

InterX.jpg
The mind is everything. What you think you become.
Best Regards
Eng. NDTM Amarasekera - Sri Lanka
Offline MBernacca  
#4 Posted : 06 December 2017 12:21:31(UTC)
MBernacca


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10
Italy
Location: Pisa

Hello ndtma,

L1 is defined just near tt. You may try to move the tt definition a bit below in the page, to be sure that L1 definition comes first.
Regarding indefinite running, please be advised that due to the more complicate example that comes below in the sheet, the full worksheet takes 6,5 minutes on a pretty good hardware. Other hardwares may require more time, that could seem an indefinite time...
Try deleting the more complicate example, leaving only the simple one.
It should run in less than 1 minute.

Thanks
Marco
Offline PompelmoTell  
#5 Posted : 06 December 2017 12:50:40(UTC)
PompelmoTell


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 91
Italy
Location: italy

Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 26 post(s)
Ndtma,

maybe that's why:

Some plugins are required and in particular:
- Matlab C++ Math Library

Attention: to my knowledge,this plugin only works with 32 bit version of Smath.
I am using 0.98 build 6484 dated 02 Oct 2017.

sergio
Offline Jean Giraud  
#6 Posted : 06 December 2017 13:37:54(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MBernacca Go to Quoted Post
the full worksheet takes 6,5 minutes on a pretty good hardware


... ~ 21 min on my laptop [1.66 GHz]

Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 06 December 2017 16:05:24(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Marco,

Just a detail: often we have to optimize project based on piecewise timing.
Smath accesses Microsoft internal timer, like this [attached].
Expect ~ 45 sec on your machine ... on mine => 1.6 min

Jean

Contour Butterfly.sm (15kb) downloaded 20 time(s).
Offline MBernacca  
#8 Posted : 06 December 2017 16:31:03(UTC)
MBernacca


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10
Italy
Location: Pisa

Jean,

this is a fantastic feature I was not aware of!
I still have to look into the details but I think it is something like an animated GIF.
I'll go deeper in your worksheet later on to discover details.
Thanks for this hint!

Marco
Offline MBernacca  
#9 Posted : 06 December 2017 18:46:09(UTC)
MBernacca


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10
Italy
Location: Pisa

Jean,

looking at your last post I have learnt a lot of things:

1) I didn't know that plots could be animated. This was a very nice example on this feature.

2) I didn't realize that placeholders can contain any kind of object. This means that definitions can be placed in a vector/matrix and treated as data. So instructions and data are on the same level (lisp docet!).
This opens the door to any kind of "black magic" like the simple example here attached.

3) Ahh..by the way I also understood about timing of code chunks...Biggrin

For all the above... thx!Clapping

Marco

BlackMagic.sm (8kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
Offline Jean Giraud  
#10 Posted : 06 December 2017 18:48:50(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MBernacca Go to Quoted Post
Jean,

this is a fantastic feature I was not aware of!
I still have to look into the details but I think it is something like an animated GIF.
I'll go deeper in your worksheet later on to discover details.
Thanks for this hint!

Marco


Few more typical animations. The Grand Champion Animate is Collab BER7.
He takes my dead cat and up dancing, isn't nice !
Once all the FRAMES are done, you set the FRAMES rate and save as *.GIF
You can pass to any Windows user and animation survives [a Windows feature].

Jean

0Anim Brownian.sm (10kb) downloaded 12 time(s).
0Anim Cheval.sm (22kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
0Anim Gozilla.sm (12kb) downloaded 12 time(s).
Rotate Eol.sm (29kb) downloaded 9 time(s).


thanks 1 user thanked Jean Giraud for this useful post.
on 07/12/2017(UTC)
Online Ber7  
#11 Posted : 07 December 2017 20:50:54(UTC)
Ber7


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 240
Man
Israel
Location: Beer-Sheva

Was thanked: 326 time(s) in 180 post(s)
If we add the third coordinate to the worksheet of Jean, we get a 3d animation.

3d Anim Brownian.sm (18kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
thanks 1 user thanked Ber7 for this useful post.
on 07/12/2017(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#12 Posted : 07 December 2017 22:06:14(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Hello Marco,

On that one, for every calculated Ω, click on image, "Reset to original size"

Pattern Brownian Collect Image.sm (26kb) downloaded 9 time(s).
Offline MBernacca  
#13 Posted : 08 December 2017 18:52:51(UTC)
MBernacca


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10
Italy
Location: Pisa

Still on line intersections.
Bug corrected: only lines with same number of points were accepted.
Now lines with different # of points will work.
Also some improvements in efficiency so that runtime is now
approx. -25%.

InterX.r1.sm (46kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
Offline Jean Giraud  
#14 Posted : 08 December 2017 21:45:19(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MBernacca Go to Quoted Post
Still on line intersections.


Some notes about "Vector partnership"

You mentioned Scilab [what a piece of software !!!], can't manage, removed from my box.
3D colors from whatever source is not available in Smath. Maxima as suggested by Martin,
complains ... useless. For your interest, Scilab should render the famous "Breather".
Attached as well.

Maths InterseX.r1.sm (66kb) downloaded 9 time(s).

Breather for UNI.sm (309kb) downloaded 7 time(s).
Rotate Breather [4 Orientations].sm (1,001kb) downloaded 8 time(s).

Offline mkraska  
#15 Posted : 09 December 2017 01:37:56(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,268
Germany

Was thanked: 631 time(s) in 419 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Maxima as suggested by Martin,
complains ... useless.


Did I miss the bug report?

2017-12-08 22_51_18-SMath Studio - [Rotate1.sm].png
Rotate1.sm (297kb) downloaded 12 time(s).



Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Jean Giraud  
#16 Posted : 09 December 2017 15:02:25(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Did I miss the bug report?

On starting Smath session, some dependencies aren't accessed.

Maxima3D.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#17 Posted : 09 December 2017 16:08:34(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,030
Canada

Was thanked: 497 time(s) in 384 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
On starting Smath session, some dependencies aren't accessed.


Starting Smath, always get that error message, close, up running fine.
As it looks, only the Maxima X_Y. 3D surface and those from menu work.
NONE of "draw 2D, 3D, implicit, explicit as you suggest ..." work.

Thanks Martin for being there in Smath Community.

Maxima Plugin.PNG

Offline MBernacca  
#18 Posted : 09 December 2017 18:04:09(UTC)
MBernacca


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10
Italy
Location: Pisa

Jean,

I tried to render the Breather in Scilab.
The code is as small as this:
Breather.PNG

and it runs as fast as this, considering that U and V are given with 100 points each:

Timing.PNG
and this is the result:
Fig1.PNG
from this side seems ok, but moving it a little bit it appears like this:
Fig2.PNG

I am not sure if this is the expected result, but however I spent only 15 min on it up to now.
I'll check better if I messed something.

Thanks
Marco
Offline MBernacca  
#19 Posted : 09 December 2017 18:27:18(UTC)
MBernacca


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 28/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 10
Italy
Location: Pisa

Ok, using limits shown by Martin [(0, pi/2); (0, 2pi)]
I got something more similar to his result:

BreatherPart.PNG

I'll work to see how to get the level curves.

Being Scilab an open source program, any chance that somebody could develop
a dedicated plugin?Biggrin

Maybe this is more a subject for the "Feature Request" Forum...Good

Marco
Offline mkraska  
#20 Posted : 10 December 2017 01:06:20(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,268
Germany

Was thanked: 631 time(s) in 419 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
On starting Smath session, some dependencies aren't accessed.


Starting Smath, always get that error message, close, up running fine.
As it looks, only the Maxima X_Y. 3D surface and those from menu work.
NONE of "draw 2D, 3D, implicit, explicit as you suggest ..." work.


Are you using the current stable or development version of SMath?
Older versions won't work with the current plugin, as there were significant changes in the API.

If you follow the link in my signature you find instructions how to install a portable distribution with Maxima. The benefit of having a portable installation is that it won't interfere with an installed version of SMath and can be tested separately. So you don't need to spoil your familiar working environment.

If maxima still won't work, then please report the system information as obtained with Insert> Development tools> System Information.

Thanks for your help.



Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.