Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline BrianWhite1964  
#1 Posted : 12 December 2017 20:52:14(UTC)
BrianWhite1964

Groups: Registered
United States

My apologies as I am new to SMath.

Question 1: In the attached picture, I am getting the error message "Units don't match". I am not sure what this message is telling me. If I have an error in my units, why doesn't SM display all of the units?

SMath Error.JPG

Question 2: In the next picture, should SM consolidate the units on its own? When I typed in "beta=", SM then knew the units should be consolidated to S.

SMath Units.JPG

Thank you for any help you can offer!

Edited by user 12 December 2017 21:28:52(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Wanna join the discussion?! Login to your SMath Studio Forum forum account. New Registrations are disabled.

Offline Davide Carpi  
#2 Posted : 12 December 2017 22:14:01(UTC)
Davide Carpi

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Man
Italy

Was thanked: 1329 time(s) in 875 post(s)
Originally Posted by: BrianWhite1964 Go to Quoted Post
My apologies as I am new to SMath.

Welcome here BrianWhite1964 Offline Good

Question 1: In the attached picture, I am getting the error message "Units don't match". I am not sure what this message is telling me.

It's a typical error that can happen in sums (and subtractions of course); since here there is only one sum, probably the dimension of beta*N isn't the same of r0 (can't say much more without knowing what are the values behind these variables)

If I have an error in my units, why doesn't SM display all of the units?

Not a bad idea but in more complex case the units reported might be still meaningless since the error might be thrown in an intermediate calculation (still something that might helps in general)