Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Ryu945  
#1 Posted : 11 May 2018 02:23:24(UTC)
Ryu945

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 5

How do I integrate symbolically?

Edited by user 11 May 2018 02:27:47(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#2 Posted : 11 May 2018 03:54:23(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ryu945 Go to Quoted Post
How do I integrate symbolically ?

Generally, like this.

IndefiniteIntegral.PNG

thanks 1 user thanked Jean Giraud for this useful post.
on 12/05/2018(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#3 Posted : 11 May 2018 04:35:04(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
... more procedures.

Integrate_000000 [ Source Code Maple].sm (10kb) downloaded 21 time(s).
Offline Ryu945  
#4 Posted : 11 May 2018 06:03:19(UTC)
Ryu945

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 5

For reference, I just installed SMath. I installed maple. Where is the integrate sign located in the program?

Edited by user 11 May 2018 08:16:10(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jean Giraud  
#5 Posted : 11 May 2018 06:15:35(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
... more procedures.


Wolfram Alpha integrator:

http://integrals.wolfram.com/index.jsp?expr=1%2F%28x%5E2%2B1%29&random=false
Offline Ryu945  
#6 Posted : 11 May 2018 08:24:05(UTC)
Ryu945

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 5

What are you trying to say?
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 11 May 2018 14:17:25(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ryu945 Go to Quoted Post
What are you trying to say?


1. Visit Wolfram Alpha for ultimate accuracy definite integral
2. Reproduce my first reply for indefinite integral .
3. Open the two attachments
4. Click on Smath menu to get the palette of stuff.

Palette.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 11 May 2018 14:22:03(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
1. Visit Wolfram Alpha for ultimate accuracy definite integral


http://www.wolframalpha.com/input/?i=integrate+x%5E(0.5-1)*exp(-x)+from+0+to+0.1

Offline Jean Giraud  
#9 Posted : 11 May 2018 14:37:42(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ryu945 Go to Quoted Post
What are you trying to say?


arcLength.PNG

Offline Jean Giraud  
#10 Posted : 11 May 2018 14:41:26(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ryu945 Go to Quoted Post
What are you trying to say?


From the last reply:
1. click on the image, copy
2. paste in Smath
3. DIY [Do It Yourself]
Offline alyles  
#11 Posted : 11 May 2018 15:32:38(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 113
United States

Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 22 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ryu945 Go to Quoted Post
Where is the integrate sign located in the program?


Hi Ryu

Welcome to the forums. Jean's first post outlined a how to create the indefinite integral, although it might not have been clear.

For example, to create the integral for x^2, you can type "int(x^2,x)" without quotes.

I do not believe there is a toolbar button for the indefinite integral.

-alyles
Offline Jean Giraud  
#12 Posted : 11 May 2018 16:44:39(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: alyles Go to Quoted Post
I do not believe there is a toolbar button for the indefinite integral


There was no palette indefinite integral in Smath 5346,
but from recollection, there was from f(x) menu.
Not reinstalled in 6179 ...

intOtherwise.PNG

Offline Ryu945  
#13 Posted : 11 May 2018 17:04:21(UTC)
Ryu945

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 5

Thankyou. int( x^2,x) was what I was looking for (and I see now what that first picture was suppose to be /headdesk). I tried the example mentioned above with maple installed but I don't see the answer like I saw above. I see this instead.

integrate.png

Edited by user 11 May 2018 17:14:41(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline alyles  
#14 Posted : 11 May 2018 17:49:59(UTC)
alyles


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/03/2016(UTC)
Posts: 113
United States

Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 22 post(s)
Try right click and change optimization to symbolic.

Also you can use symbolic evaluation by hitting Ctrl + . (That is Ctrl and period) instead of =
Offline Jean Giraud  
#15 Posted : 11 May 2018 18:13:30(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ryu945 Go to Quoted Post
Thankyou. int( x^2,x) was what I was looking for


Copy the image, paste in blank work sheet ... try to do it yourself.
Try hard !!! rescue yourself by downloading the work sheet.
It should work in your latest Smath version.

Integrate Wisely [Arc Maple].sm (9kb) downloaded 8 time(s).


intDIY.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#16 Posted : 11 May 2018 18:43:56(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
... be productive to integrate, try it.

intMaple.PNG
Offline Jean Giraud  
#17 Posted : 11 May 2018 19:44:31(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 2,981
Canada

Was thanked: 586 time(s) in 454 post(s)
... this attached example is of prime importance.
It shows by how much the Simpson integrator can be OFF track !
Not even the first decimal is true !

Integrate Wisely [Arc Lagrange].sm (45kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
Offline Ryu945  
#18 Posted : 11 May 2018 20:26:13(UTC)
Ryu945

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 5

Thankyou for all of your assistance.
Offline ElSid  
#19 Posted : 11 May 2018 20:40:36(UTC)
ElSid


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 05/03/2009(UTC)
Posts: 273
Man
United States
Location: USA

Was thanked: 9 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Jean,
Your overloading Ryu945. This appears to be his first experience with this type of software. Slow down and teach/explain. Notice the way alyles responded.

Welcome to the forum Ryu945. Play with the software, look at the Wiki, search the forums. When in doubt, ask. Don't be surprised if someone responds to a link from several years back ... thus, search the forum first.
as you progress and have specific questions, please post/attach your sheet like Jean did. This will allow others to help without having to redo or guess your work. Also, there is one function that I recommend you add to all of your sheets, appversion(). In particular, appversion(3) and appversion(-3). This tells us what version you are currently working in and what version the sheet was last saved in. Not common, but over the years, some updates have broken older sheets.
thanks 1 user thanked ElSid for this useful post.
on 12/05/2018(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#20 Posted : 13 May 2018 17:35:29(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,429
Germany

Was thanked: 745 time(s) in 480 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Ryu945 Go to Quoted Post
How do I integrate symbolically?


You can use the free computer algebra system (CAS) Maxima from within SMath Studio.

See the Maxima forum topic. There is also a pre-configured portable SMath-Distribution, see link in my signature.

The german Handbuch has a lot of material on using the Maxima interface. Besides doing symbolic math it also gives many examples on how to use Maxima based graphics functions.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 2 users thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 13/05/2018(UTC),  on 16/05/2018(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
2 Pages12>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.