Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


3 Pages123>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Davide Carpi  
#1 Posted : 18 September 2013 18:25:57(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
Hi all,

Here there is a plugin to make single or multiple snapshots inside SMath Studio's worksheets without using external tools.

FEATURES:
- sets of snapshots (the set name is taken from the placeholder);
- progressive numbering for each set;
- save by context menu: selected frame / any frame of the set of the selected frame / any frame on the worksheet;
- each frame can keep or skip canvas' tile;
- pasting a text into the placeholder this will become a SMath string variable;
- hidden in SMath Viewer (by design).

Plugin languages: English Deutsch Italiano Español

PLEASE REPORT IN THIS TOPIC ANY ISSUE.


  • requirements: SMath Studio 0.96.5146 Nigthly build or later, .Net Framework 2.0;
  • installation: download the plugin from the gallery;
  • documentation: download and unzip the attached archive;
  • sources: if you want to see the plugin sources look in the SVN repository;
  • languages: if you want to have a new UI language look into the documentation's Language folder

Edited by user 07 February 2014 15:00:35(UTC)  | Reason: requirements updated

File Attachment(s):
SnapshotRegion_docs.7z (27kb) downloaded 133 time(s).
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2013-10-15 11_15_10-SMath Studio Desktop - [SnapshotRegion.sm_].png
If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 4 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 18/09/2013(UTC),  on 18/09/2013(UTC),  on 18/09/2013(UTC),  on 19/09/2013(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#2 Posted : 18 September 2013 20:53:39(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Thanks for your efforts Good , but I am not quite sure what this plugin is supposed to do? I can put it on the page, make a set, save it as PNG snapshots.

On the other hand, I can resize it horizontally, but not vertically.

Regards,
radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Davide Carpi  
#3 Posted : 18 September 2013 21:05:19(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
Hi omorr, thank you for your feedback Good

The plugin is intended for batch screenshots (I think could be useful for relations, handbooks, guides, websites...) =)

You don't see resize's placeholders or you really can't resize the region? For the first issue I've planned something without loosing the "dark look", if there are bugs let me know...


best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 18 September 2013 21:10:42(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#4 Posted : 18 September 2013 21:51:34(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,973
Germany

Was thanked: 1118 time(s) in 716 post(s)
As already said in PM: Sometimes dreams come true.
- I confirm the resizing problem.
- Area regions must be expanded, otherwise the snapshot contents is shifted by the amount of hidden vertical space.
- Would be fine if the choice of saving location could be kept or if the default would be the location of the sm-file.
- Would also be fine to launch the complete snapshot production upon save of the file.

I have asked in the past for such a feature. This provides an automated way for update of images used in any type of documents. You may link them to word or ni latex files. The idea was to automatically update all images of the pdf handbook without touching them, e.g. after new SMath releases or after bugfixes of plugins.

I am using the latex front end LyX for writing handbooks and the like. This program can embed external material, by describing what type of source generates the image, what program does open it and what image format it produces.
Thus you may click a snapshot in your editor, SMath is launched, youn can edit the contents, save and exit, and have the image updated. That can be as convenient as Mathcad used to be in former times.

mkraska attached the following image(s):
snapshot.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://smath.com/wiki/SMath_with_Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#5 Posted : 18 September 2013 22:18:20(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
Thank you Martin Good

Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
- Area regions must be expanded, otherwise the snapshot contents is shifted by the amount of hidden vertical space.

I don't understand or I can't replicate the issue (see the attchment)

Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
- Would be fine if the choice of saving location could be kept or if the default would be the location of the sm-file.

I'll do, it's quite easy

Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
- Would also be fine to launch the complete snapshot production upon save of the file.

I'll think to this, maybe I'll add a variable to enable/disable this feature, like in some plugin made by uni..


best regards,

Davide
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2013-09-18 21_09_13-SMath Studio Desktop - [Page1_].png
If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#6 Posted : 18 September 2013 22:50:25(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,973
Germany

Was thanked: 1118 time(s) in 716 post(s)
In the example, the snippet region is collapsed, the contents of the exported file is from somewhere below the snapshot region.
File Attachment(s):
example support reactions linear system.sm (35kb) downloaded 58 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
snapshot.PNG
bild_001.png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://smath.com/wiki/SMath_with_Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#7 Posted : 18 September 2013 23:19:08(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Davide, look at the first picture please - there is only one placeholder at the right side for resizing. I con not find the placeholder on tho bottom or at the right corner.

Martin, look at the second picture please. Where is this comming from Shok . I just opened the file you attached to the previous post and this message box appeared. Is there any Maxima plugin in the development and not available at the moment?

Regards,
Radovan

Edited by user 18 September 2013 23:21:31(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

omorr attached the following image(s):
resizingsnapshot.png
maximaplugin.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline mkraska  
#8 Posted : 19 September 2013 00:16:15(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,973
Germany

Was thanked: 1118 time(s) in 716 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post

Is there any Maxima plugin in the development and not available at the moment?

Sorry for the confusion. LinSolve(2) is from Maxima, I forgot to switch that back to the snippet version LinSolve(1). Just remove the second argument, then the file should run.

The plugin is going to go public soon. One of our students is doing a great job with the coding work, I am doing the specification/docs and the testing. We just want to have the user interface (functions) to settle a bit. You find some doc preview in the SVN activebook. You can use the waiting time to install Maxima (plugin developed and tested under win only).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://smath.com/wiki/SMath_with_Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#9 Posted : 19 September 2013 00:32:18(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Davide, look at the first picture please - there is only one placeholder at the right side for resizing. I con not find the placeholder on tho bottom or at the right corner.

No, there are 3 placeholders, you can't see them because the background is close to black. From my smartphone and from my notebook (with sloping LCD) I can see both the bottom placeholders... don't worry, I'll make something - BTW if you move the pointer over the bottom-left corner or over the half width of the bottom edge the mouse cursor will change.

Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
In the example, the snippet region is collapsed, the contents of the exported file is from somewhere below the snapshot region.
Thank you, that's my lack Wink


Thank you both Good

Edited by user 19 September 2013 13:59:50(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
resizingsnapshot.png
If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#10 Posted : 19 September 2013 01:33:34(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
UPDATED

- fixed vertical shift when the frame is below collapsed regions;
- change of background behind resize's placeholders (when the region is focused);
- default save folders on dialogs is desktop for new documents, otherwise worksheet's path;
- added Italian and German translations.

Edited by user 19 September 2013 07:52:08(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline omorr  
#11 Posted : 19 September 2013 13:36:34(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post

Is there any Maxima plugin in the development and not available at the moment?

Sorry for the confusion. LinSolve(2) is from Maxima, I forgot to switch that back to the snippet version LinSolve(1). Just remove the second argument, then the file should run.

The plugin is going to go public soon. One of our students is doing a great job with the coding work, I am doing the specification/docs and the testing. We just want to have the user interface (functions) to settle a bit. You find some doc preview in the SVN activebook. You can use the waiting time to install Maxima (plugin developed and tested under win only).


I am very pleased to know this Good and also looking forward to the many times mentioned possibility of Maxima plugin for SMath.

Regards,
Radovan

Edited by user 19 September 2013 15:23:46(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline omorr  
#12 Posted : 19 September 2013 15:19:25(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Davide,

I suppose you figured out how to use Greenshot and to see the resize arrow because you deleted the question in your previous post (You are right, I am using it as well). Just in the Preferences set to see the mouse and increase the the time delay in order to have enough time to change the mouse appereance.

Regards,
Radovan

Edited by user 19 September 2013 15:23:03(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

omorr attached the following image(s):
screenshotplugin.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 19/09/2013(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#13 Posted : 19 September 2013 15:39:23(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Just in the Preferences set to see the mouse and increase the the time delay in order to have enough time to change the mouse appereance

Thank you Radovan, that's exactly what I need Dance

My first rude solution was to press "more resolutely Spiteful " the stamp key, I've missed that setting Thank you

Edited by user 19 September 2013 15:51:04(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#14 Posted : 20 September 2013 01:21:00(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
UPDATED

- changed top and bottom ribbon height (better look on tag wrap and region resize);
- small fixes.

If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#15 Posted : 20 September 2013 15:50:29(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
UPDATED

- can export the canvas tile (off by default).

* if you need to update sheets where there are Snaphot Regions, add inside the worksheet code the attribute

Code:
tile="False"
Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
2013-09-20 14_49_01-C__Users_Davide_Desktop_test.sm - Notepad++.png
If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#16 Posted : 22 September 2013 22:24:44(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,973
Germany

Was thanked: 1118 time(s) in 716 post(s)
Currently, the snapshot region is fine, if you have dedicated SMath documents for generating these snapshots. However, if you want to use these documents as parts of the help system (e.g. Activebook) then the current region formatting is a little distracting. Would it be possible to hav an (optional) less dominantly structuring design, lets say like proposed in this post?

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://smath.com/wiki/SMath_with_Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#17 Posted : 23 September 2013 00:18:14(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
AFAIK a real frame (with empty body) is not possible with custom regions, but I may be wrong;
To let the region easily editable I can add a control to collapse the region in a smaller one; BTW this don't let you know what's the exported region, so if something change requiring more width or height you need to expand again the region before resizing it...

Edited by user 23 September 2013 02:25:30(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#18 Posted : 24 September 2013 02:57:18(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
UPDATED

- compact mode;
- fixed frame position when descriptions are shown.
[edit & updated] - forced transparent background on resizing.


* if you need to update sheets where there are Snaphot Regions, add inside the worksheet code the attribute

Code:
compact="False"

Edited by user 24 September 2013 13:53:28(UTC)  | Reason: updated

If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 25/09/2013(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#19 Posted : 25 September 2013 19:34:12(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,973
Germany

Was thanked: 1118 time(s) in 716 post(s)
I'd propose to expand and collapse the region just by clicking on it. So far, such mouse action would not do anything, thus it would not harm but avoid using the context menu.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://smath.com/wiki/SMath_with_Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#20 Posted : 25 September 2013 20:14:13(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,637
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1323 time(s) in 873 post(s)
I can do it, but are you sure? if you want just to resize the region and you go outside the placeholders, the region will resize (just to ask, I agree with the "less things as possible" approach)...

[edit] I'm thinking about a visual change on mouse over...

Edited by user 25 September 2013 20:44:03(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins consider to support SMath Studio buying a plan; to offer me a coffee: paypal.me/dcprojects
Users browsing this topic
3 Pages123>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.